Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Databases: Databases - Subscription

Databases Home

Welcome to Oswego East High School's Library without Walls online initiative. OEHS subscribes to a broad range of research databases that are available for student research. Browse our databases below. When off campus, database access requires a password. 

EBSCOhost

EBSCO offers reliable, high-quality content from a variety of popular and academic sources to support student research and classroom instruction. Use this link to select multiple databases for one search.

Advance Placement Source

Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags. Advanced Placement Source can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Explora

This EBSCO Discovery Service search interface  is constructed to take advantage of student information seeking behavior, emphasizing ease of use and delivery of relevant search results, topic overviews, streaming videos, and full-text articles. Explora offers grade appropriate content, direct access to non-fiction and primary source resources, teaching materials aligned to Common Core and state curriculum standards, and tools for collaboration and professional development.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. The Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

MAS Ultra

Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines. MAS Ultra - School Edition can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags. Middle Search Plus can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Britannica Online

Encyclopædia Britannica Online is the website of Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc. and its Encyclopædia Britannica, with more than 120,000 articles that are updated regularly. It has daily features, updates and links to news reports from The New York Times and the BBC.

Discover encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources, games, and other learning resources that support student research and reinforce curriculum standards.

The Encyclopedia Britannica is no exception. This is the reason multiple sources should be used in researching a subject. ... Britannica uses professional researchers and editors, so it can be assumed to be both reliable and unbiased.

User Name and Password needed to access this database

ERIC - Education Resource Information Center

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Health Source - Consumer Edition can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Nature.com

Springer Nature is the world’s largest academic book publisher, publisher of the world’s most influential journals and a pioneer in the field of open research. Our mission is to enable the advance of research and to help the research community to improve outcomes. Through our portfolio of journals, books, databases and solutions we enable researchers, students, teachers and professionals to access the full depth and breadth of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and humanities.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Newspaper Source can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

TopicSearch

Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom. TOPICsearch can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.