LibGuides: English 3: The Harlem Renaissance: Home

Return to LRC

EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost offers reliable, high-quality content from a variety of popular and academic sources to support student research and classroom instruction.

Use this LINK to access the EBSCOhost databases through MyPortal.

Advanced Placement Source is designed to meet the extensive needs of high school students enrolled in various AP courses. It offers a world of knowledge for students who seek to achieve academic excellence. Advanced Placement Source contains more than 5,550 full-text academic journals and magazines and over 502,000 photos, maps and flags. Advanced Placement Source can be found under the EBSCOhost icon in your MyPortal app.

TOPICsearch - Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom. TOPICsearch can be found under the EBSCOhost icon in your MyPortal app.

Explora

This EBSCO Discovery Service search interface is constructed to take advantage of student information seeking behavior, emphasizing ease of use and delivery of relevant search results, topic overviews, streaming videos, and full-text articles. Explora offers grade appropriate content, direct access to non-fiction and primary source resources, teaching materials aligned to Common Core and state curriculum standards, and tools for collaboration and professional development.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided. Newspaper Source can be found under the EBSCOhost tab.

Print Materials

Click on the above button to search topics in the OE LRC print collection

The Harlem Renaissance - Overview

The Harlem Renaissance was the development of the Harlem neighborhood in New York City as a black cultural mecca in the early 20th Century and the subsequent social and artistic explosion that resulted.

An Archive for Virtual Harlem
The Virtual Harlem project is a virtual representation of Harlem, New York as it existed during the Harlem Renaissance/Jazz Age. The project is one of the earliest virtual reality environments created for use in the humanities and especially for the use in an African American literature course. It was originally conceived by Dr. Bryan Carter while he was completing his doctoral studies at the University of Missouri-Columbia (UCM).
A Brief Guide to the Harlem Renaissance
Poets.org - When considering essential movements in American poetry, no conversation would be complete without a discussion of the Harlem Renaissance.
Digital Collections
Library of Congress - Digital Collection of manuscripts, photographs, plays and sound recordings
Harlem History
Columbia University - presents a wealth of archival treasures about the history of one of the world' most famous and influential neighborhoods
Harlem Renaissance
history.com - Definition, artists, and how it started
Harlem Renaissance: American literature and art
Britannica
Library of Congress Research Guide
Library of Congress - This guide provides access to selected Library of Congress digital and print resources as well as links to external websites on the Harlem Renaissance

Daily Life

America in 1915: Long Hours, Crowded Houses, Death by Trolley
The Atlantic - Bad news: No antibiotics. Good news: Streetcars, everywhere!
United States Census
census.gov - Browse by topic -- economy, education, employment, housing, income 7 poverty, population, race

Music

Harlem Renaissance
ushistory.org - No aspect of the Harlem Renaissance shaped America and the entire world as much as jazz.
An Archive for Virtual Harlem - Music
The music of the Harlem Renaissance has its roots in jazz. Jazz is considered a musical language of communication and was the first indigenous American style to affect music in the rest of the world. From the beat of ragtime syncopation and driving brass bands to soaring gospel choirs mixed with field hollers and the deep down growl of the blues, jazz's many roots are celebrated almost everywhere in the United States.
Drop Me Off at Harlem
The Kennedy Center , Arts Edge - Faces of the Harlem Renaissance

Art

7 Prominent Artists Of The Harlem Renaissance In NYC
The Culture Trip - While racism was still prevalent, the community bolstered a new era of creativity inhabited in the works of these seven artists.
African American Art: Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Era, and Beyond
African American Art: Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Era, and Beyond presents a selection of paintings, sculpture, prints, and photographs by forty-three black artists who explored the African American experience from the Harlem Renaissance through the Civil Rights era and the decades beyond, which saw tremendous social and political changes.
Uncovering America
National Gallery of Art - While the Harlem Renaissance may be best known for its literary and performing arts—pioneering figures such as Langston Hughes, Zora Neale Hurston, Duke Ellington, and Ma Rainey may be familiar—sculptors, painters, and printmakers were key contributors to the first modern Afrocentric cultural movement and formed a black avant-garde in the visual arts.

Literature

Harlem History - Arts and Culture
The pace of New York City, the blend of backgrounds of the people who settled in Harlem, and the difficulties associated with living in Harlem were among the experiences that found expression in theater, fiction, and music, among other art forms.
An Introduction to the Harlem Renaissance
poetryfoudation.org - tracing the poetic work of this crucial cultural and artistic movement
Zora Neale Hurston Plays at the Library of Congress
libraryofcongress.org - This collection present ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist.

English 3: The Harlem Renaissance: Home